@korina Many thanks! You solved it :)
And apologies: I should have checked that first. I was sure I had already done that, but I was wrong. Or perhaps the setting got lost during a phone upgrade because Google doesn't know how to copy settings during phone upgrades? That actually seems likely... Is it possible/desirable for the widget to check for this permission and remind fools like me that we have to fix stuff?